Chair for Mathematics of Information Processing

Our group's research interests revolve around the broad areas of Information Processing and Data Science. We work on the mathematical foundations of these areas in both deterministic and stochastic settings and investigate the modelling of real world high-dimensional systems and the efficiency of their related numerical approaches in several subfields:

1.) Compressive Sensing is concerned with the recovery of objects (signals, functions, matrices etc.) from incomplete measurements. We focus in particular on the analysis of structured random matrices arising in this context, on quantization in measurement schemes, on phase retrieval and on the use of compressive sensing in numerical analysis (uncertainty quantification).

2.) Mathematical understanding of Machine Learning techniques: We are interested in several aspects of deep learning (deep neural networks): convergence theory for (stochastic) gradient descent algorithms for learning neural networks, implicit bias, understanding overparametrization and recurrent neural networks. Moreover, we investigate the use of the theory of rough paths and signature methods for machine learning.

3.) We work on various aspects of optimisation, robust optimisation, parametric optimisation, analysis of gradient descent and optimisation algorithms related to compressive sensing.

Our work combines aspects from several mathematical areas: high-dimensional probability theory (random matrices), analysis (harmonic analysis, geometric functional analysis, convex analysis) and optimisation.

Professors and Lecturers

Prof. Dr. Holger Rauhut QI
Prof. Dr. Yubao Guo QI
PD Dr. Harald Guenzel QI

Organisation

Dr. Sabine Simon QI

Postal Address

RWTH Aachen University
Chair for Mathematics of Information Processing
Pontdriesch 12-14
52062 Aachen
Germany


© · Valid HTML5 · Valid CSS3

Lehrstuhl für Mathematik der Informationsverarbeitung

Unserer Gruppe betreibt mathematische Forschung auf den Gebieten der Informations- und Datenverarbeitung. Wir betrachten dabei sowohl deterministische als auch wahrscheinlichkeitstheoretische Problemstellungen, untersuchen die Modellierung hochdimensionaler Systeme und analysieren die Effizienz daraus resultierender numerischer Verfahren. Einige konkrete Teilgebiete sind:

1.) Compressive Sensing: Dieses junge Gebiet der Mathematik beschäftigt sich mit der Wiederherstellung von Objekten (Signale, Funktionen, Matrizen etc.) aus unterbestimmten Messsystemen. Wir konzentrieren uns hauptsächlich auf die Analyse von strukturierten Zufallsmatrizen, die in diesem Zusammenhang auftreten, auf die Quantisierung der Messsystemen, auf Phase Retrieval und auf die Anwendung von Compressed Sensing in numerischer Analysis (Uncertainty Quantification).

2.) Machine Learning: Wir interessieren uns für verschiedene Aspekte von Deep Learning/Deep Neural Networks wie zum Beispiel für die Konvergenztheorie des (stochastischen) Gradientenabstiegverfahrens beim Lernen neuronaler Netze, für das Wirkprinzip von impliziter Regularisierung bzw. Überparametrisierung und für Recurrent Neural Networks. Zur theoretischen Analysis nutzen wir unter anderem Rough Paths und Signature Methods.

3.) Optimierung: Wir arbeiten an robuster Optimierung, parametrischer Optimierung und der Analyse von Gradientenabstiegs- und dem Compressed Sensing nahestehender Verfahren.

Unsere Arbeit kombiniert dabei verschiedene Gebiete der Mathematik: Hochdimensionale Wahrscheinlichkeitstheorie (Zufallsmatrizen), Analysis (Harmonische Analysis, geometrische Funktionalanalysis, konvexe Analysis) und Optimierung.

Professoren und Dozenten

Prof. Dr. Holger Rauhut QI
Prof. Dr. Yubao Guo QI
PD Dr. Harald Guenzel QI

Organisation

Dr. Sabine Simon QI

Postanschrift

RWTH Aachen University
Lehrstuhl für Mathematik der Informationsverarbeitung
Pontdriesch 12-14
52062 Aachen


© · Valid HTML5 · Valid CSS3